Overhauling Overtime In Washington State
Posted Jan 28, 2020
By Washington State Business and Real Estate Law Lawyer Andrew M. McKenzie
For decades, Washington State left the its overtime rules essentially unchanged. But recent changes going into effect in July 2020 will dramatically increase the threshold for exemptions to overtime eligibility. When combined with the recent increase in Washington State’s minimum wage of $13.50/hour effective January 1, 2020, these changes will are expected to affect approximately 259,000 Washington workers by 2028. The new rules generally require employers to pay overtime to employees who work over 40 hours in a week and whose weekly salary is less than a certain multiplier of the state’s minimum wage. Starting July 1, 2020, employees who work over 40 hours a week and whose full time weekly salary is less than $675 are entitled to overtime pay. Starting January 1, 2021, the salary threshold for overtime pay will depend in part on the employer’s size: employers with 50 or fewer employees must pay overtime to employees whose weekly full time salary is less than $827, whereas larger employers must pay overtime to employees whose weekly full time salary is less than $965. The thresholds continue to increase under a pre-set schedule through 2028, and are adjusted for inflation thereafter.
Both employers and employees should educate themselves concerning these new wage regulations to ensure compliance with the law and to avoid disputes and wage claims. The lawyers at Beresford Booth hold extensive experience in employment matters. We would be pleased to assist you in avoiding and resolving employment disputes and claims.
BERESFORD BOOTH PLLC has made this content available to the general public for informational purposes only. The information on this site is not intended to convey legal opinions or legal advice.